FiltersFilters
The Waiting Years

The Waiting Years

Fumiko EnchiPaperback Published for the first time in the UK, one of Japan's greatest modern female writers In the late nineteenth century, Tomo, the faithful wife of a government official, is sent t...
€13,95*
Yasunari Kawabata Snow Country

Yasunari Kawabata

Snow Country

Yasunari KawabataPaperback Shimamura is tired of the bustling city. He takes the train through the snow to the mountains of the west coast of Japan, to meet with a geisha he believes he loves. Beauti...
€13,95*
Yukio Mishima Runaway Horses

Yukio Mishima

Runaway Horses

Yukio MishimaPaperback Read this classic exploration of political violence, traditional samurai values and right wing nihilism. Isao is a young, engaging patriot, and a fanatical believer in the anci...
€13,95*
Hiro Arikawa The Travelling Cat Chronicles

Hiro Arikawa

The Travelling Cat Chronicles

Hardback It's not the journey that counts, but who's at your side. Nana is on a road trip, but he is not sure where he is going. All that matters is that he can sit beside his beloved owner Satoru in ...
€13,95*
Haruki Murakami Killing Commendatore
€14,95*
Haruki Murakami Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

Haruki Murakami

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

Paperback Here are animated crows, a criminal monkey, an ice man, as well as the dreams that shape us and the things we wish for. Whether during a chance reunion in Italy, a romantic exile in Greece, ...
€12,95*
What You Are Looking for is in the Library (Paperback)

What You Are Looking for is in the Library (Paperback)

Michiko Aoyama Paperback 256 pages What are you looking for?So asks Tokyo's most enigmatic librarian, Sayuri Komachi. But she is no ordinary librarian. Sensing exactly what someone is searchi...
€13,95*
Asa: The Girl Who Turned into a Pair of Chopsticks

Asa: The Girl Who Turned into a Pair of Chopsticks

Natsuko Imamura Paperback 208 pages Asa tries to give her classmate a biscuit. Nami evades her classmates' playground game of acorn-throwing. Happy decides she's not interested in doing anything ...
€13,95*
Yukio Mishima Beautiful Star

Yukio Mishima

Beautiful Star

Yukio Mishima Paperback 288 pages Beautiful Star is a 1962 tale of family, love, nuclear war and UFOs, and was considered by Mishima to be one of his very best books. Translated into English for...
€13,95*
Yukio Mishima Confessions of a Mask

Yukio Mishima

Confessions of a Mask

Yukio Mishima Paperback 176 pages 'There is in this world a kind of desire like stinging pain'A Japanese teenager is overcome with longing for his male classmate. He imagines his body punctured w...
€13,95*
The Third Love

The Third Love

Hiromi Kawakami Paperback 288 pages Having married her childhood sweetheart, Riko now finds herself trapped in a relationship that has been soured by infidelity. One day, by chance, she runs i...
€17,95*
Silence

Silence

Shusaku Endo Paperback 272 pages Published in 1967 in Japan to huge controversy, Silence is Shusaku Endo's most highly acclaimed novel and a classic of its genre. Father Rodrigues is an idealisti...
€13,95*
The Hole

The Hole

Hiroko Oyamada Hardback 96 pages 'As I tried to move, I realized how narrow the hole really was. The hole felt as though it was exactly my size - a trap made just for me'When Asa's husband is off...
€17,95*
The Bridegroom Was a Dog

The Bridegroom Was a Dog

Yoko Tawada Hardback 96 pages A tale of passion and romance between a Japanese schoolteacher and a doglike man, from the prize-winning author of The Last Children of TokyoMitsuko, a schoolteache...
€17,95*
The Noh Mask Murder

The Noh Mask Murder

Akimitsu Takagi Paperback 224 pages Can you solve the puzzle of the Noh Mask Murder?Death and madness have haunted the Chizui family for years. Now a strange figure has been seen wandering their...
€13,95*
Yukio Mishima The Sailor who Fell from Grace with the Sea : Vintage Quarterbound Classics

Yukio Mishima

The Sailor who Fell from Grace with the Sea : Vintage Quarterbound Classics

Yukio Mishima Hardback 144 pages A band of savage thirteen-year-old boys reject the adult world as illusory, hypocritical, and sentimental, and train themselves in a brutal callousness they call ...
€22,95*
Toshikazu Kawaguchi Before Your Memory Fades

Toshikazu Kawaguchi

Before Your Memory Fades

Toshikazu Kawaguchi Paperback 256 pages The million-copy bestselling series. Toshikazu Kawaguchi’s touching Before Your Memory Fades, translated from Japanese by Geoffrey Trousselot, expl...
€13,95*
Japanese Ghost Stories

Japanese Ghost Stories

Lafcadio Hearn Paperback 256 pages The dead wreak revenge on the living, paintings come alive, spectral brides possess mortal men and a priest devours human flesh in these chilling Japanese gh...
€13,95*
The Premonition

The Premonition

Banana Yoshimoto Paperback / softback 144 pages I had a premonition of setting out on a journey and getting lost inside a distant tide ... It was the beginning of summer, and I was nineteen yea...
€17,95*
Hit Parade of Tears

Hit Parade of Tears

Izumi Suzuki Paperback 288 pages A new collection of stories from the cult author of Terminal Boredom. Izumi Suzuki had ideas about doing things differently, ideas that paid little attention to...
€16,95*
Weasels in the Attic

Weasels in the Attic

Hiroko Oyamada Paperback 80 pages A UK debut from a fresh, prize-winning talent, this quietly surreal novel is perfect for fans of Sayaka Murata and Mieko KawakamiTwo friends meet across three d...
€12,95*
Nipponia Nippon

Nipponia Nippon

Kazushige Abe Softback 160 pages An off-kilter darkly ironic novella about a boy's strange obsession with the Japanese crested ibis, from a Japanese literary starSeventeen-year-old Haruo spends a...
€12,95*
Seishi Yokomizo The Devil's Flute Murders

Seishi Yokomizo

The Devil's Flute Murders

Paperback 352 pages An ingenious and highly atmospheric classic whodunit from Japan's master of crime. Amid the rubble of post-war Tokyo, inside the grand Tsubaki house, a once-noble family is in ...
€13,95*
Seishi Yokomizo The Village of Eight Graves

Seishi Yokomizo

The Village of Eight Graves

Seishi Yokomizo Paperback 352 pages Nestled deep in the mist-shrouded mountains, The Village of Eight Graves takes its name from a bloody legend: in the sixteenth century eight samurai, who had t...
€12,95*
Page 4 of 5